I listened to The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks by E. Lockhart shortly after it came out. Of course, I was drawn to the book because it takes place in a boarding school (like one of my favorites, Prep by Curtis Sittenfield). But the writing is quite clever for a YA book. I wasn’t so very shocked to hear that Disreputable History was a 2009 Michael L. Printz Award Honor Book. Lockhart’s acceptance speech is short, but interesting. She talks about who/what works influenced her development of Frankie’s character and the overall theme of the book – Waugh’s Brideshead Revisited and Stevenson’s The Suicide Club. I love hearing about the inspiration for books and how all the influences are combined to create something new. Lockhart also talks about how books are meant to be reread at different life stages for different meanings to emerge. If you have 7 minutes, it’s worth watching!